Delta Rae

January 8, 2018
Delta Rae   Delta Rae formed in Durham, NC, in 2009.  Proving that your siblings indeed make the best friends, the group is comprised of Ian Hölljes (vocals and guitar), Eric Hölljes (vocals, guitar, piano and keys) and Brittany Hölljes (vocals), as well as Elizabeth Hopkins (vocals), Mike McKee (percussion) and Grant Emerson (bass guitar).  The group has appeared at Bonnaroo, Tortuga Music Festival, Austin City Limits, Hangout Fest, VOODOO and Lollapalooza. In case you were wondering where the band name came from, it's a sweet story.  Its origin is in a fictional story the Hölljes' mother intended to write, about a young southern girl by the name of Delta Rae who summons the Greek Gods to Earth.  Listening to Delta Rae, it's easy to picture the group penning the soundtrack to such an event, as their robust, larger-than-life performances are simply awe-inspiring. In the X Lounge, they simply wowed us with their vocal choreography and stage presence.  They currently have a new EP, entitled "The Blackbird Sessions", and a great single, "No Peace in Quiet", which you can hear below.  Show business is a family affair for these performers, because nothing is thicker than blood; and with good friends and some raw talent, you've got the making of a supergroup.